Fathers Day

JJ Hart
3 min readJun 20, 2022

A little late with this post but in many ways it’s a relevant look at my past. Even though I have never taken any sort of real survey. It seems to me from my many years following other transgender women or cross dressing blogs, our Mom’s receive most of the credit and or blame for our gender issues. From makeup to fashion many of us followed our Mom’s lead.

Through it all what about Dad? In my case I still stand in awe of all he accomplished in his life. In addition to surviving the Depression and World War II, he took his high school education, built his own house and rose to being a Bank Vice President. It broke my heart when he developed dementia and slipped away.

Sadly I was never able to talk to him concerning any of the important issues in my life. Especially my questions about gender. While he exceeded my expectations at being a provider, he was sadly very deficient in being emotionally available.

It took me years to come to terms to my up bringing as a white privileged kid being raised in a semi-rural area in Ohio. To make up for it I hit the ground running in 1968 during my first year of college when the Vietnam War was surging and I always thought my Dad was pro Nixon. I remember his disliking of when my hair started to creep over my ears and collar. His crew cuts and burr haircuts became a thing of the past to me. Even still, my Dad managed to not say much to…

--

--

JJ Hart

Thanks for stopping by! I am a married Transgender veteran author and blogger. I write in the hope of helping others with similar gender dysphoria